FIFA World Cup 1930

World Cup , The first FIFA World Cup was held in 1930, with as the host nation. The tournament saw 13 teams compete for the title, with Uruguay winning the final against . The 1930 FIFA World Cup was the first ever edition of the FIFA World Cup, the world championship for men's national association teams. It was held in Uruguay from 13 July to 30 July 1930.

Thirteen teams entered the tournament, seven from South America, three from , and one from North America. The host nation, Uruguay, won the final against Argentina 4–2. This was the first World Cup final to be played in a fully enclosed stadium, and the first to be broadcast on radio.

Uruguay was selected as the host nation by FIFA, the sport's governing body, on 6 July 1929. The decision was taken by the FIFA Congress in Barcelona, with the support of Uruguay's bid by a margin of 13 votes to three. Uruguay had won the 1928 Summer Olympics football tournament, which was their first major international title. They were also the reigning South American champions, having won the 1929 Copa América.

The format of the tournament was a knockout competition, with four rounds of matches, and a final. The thirteen teams were divided into four groups of three, with the top two teams in each group advancing to the knockout stage. In the first round of group matches, Uruguay and Argentina both won their groups, while the United States and Yugoslavia were both eliminated.

In the second round, Uruguay beat Yugoslavia 3–0, and Argentina beat the United States 6–1. In the semi-finals, Uruguay beat Argentina 2–1, and then went on to beat Yugoslavia 4–2 in the final, becoming the first ever FIFA World Cup champions.

Leave a Comment