FIFA World Cup 1978

FIFA World Cup was the 11th edition of the FIFA World Cup, the quadrennial international championship for men's national teams. Held in from 1 to 25 June, the tournament was won by the hosts in a 3–1 final victory over the , with Mario Kempes scoring twice for the hosts.

The tournament was played in 5 cities across Argentina. The tournament saw the best 16 teams competing for the title. Among them were the World Cup holders, West , who were looking to defend their title, and the host nation, Argentina, who were determined to make sure their home nation won.

This world cup was played on the previous format of World Cup 1974. For the first time, more than 100 nations entered in the qualification Phase. Argentina as host nation was granted automatic qualification, with the remaining 15 teams participated in the 1978 World Cup, including 10 European teams, 3 South American teams, 1 North American team & Single representative from Asia as well as from .

, Poland, Austria and Peru topped their groups, with Argentina, West Germany, and Netherlands coming in second place. Both eight teams qualified for the next round. The teams split into two groups of four. The winners of each group qualified for the final, while the runners-up and third-placed teams qualified for the third-place play-off. Netherlands topped their group, followed by Italy, West Germany and Austria. The Argentina topped their group, followed by Brazil, Poland and Peru.

Third position match was played between Brazil and Italy with Brazil defeating Italy with 2-1.

The final match was held on 25 June 1978 at the Estadio Monumental in the Argentine capital city of in , between the Netherlands and Argentina.  The Netherlands played their second World Cup final in a row, both times to the host nation.

The Argentina took the lead in the first half when Mario Kempes scored first Goal in 38th Minute of 1st Half. West Germany awarded penalty kick in 25th minute. Netherland tried hard for equalizer but failed to do so in 1st Half. But in the 82nd Minute of 2nd Half, Dick Nanninga scored 1st Goal for Netherlands. The Match went into Extra time and Argentinean side scoring 2 Goals in 105th & 115th Minute  and go onto Win the World Cup for first time for Argentina.

The victory for Argentina was especially meaningful, as it was the first time the country had won a World Cup, and it marked a turning point for the country's footballing fortunes. To this day, the 1978 FIFA World Cup Final is still remembered fondly by both Argentine and Dutch fans alike, as it was a truly memorable occasion.

Leave a Comment